The Moving Word

Writer, Preacher, Bookworm, Student of the Word

Interview with Adam Faughn

In our first of a series of interviews with bloggers, we spoke with Mike Riley, who runs a successful Biblical blog that has been around a long time and focuses on Mike’s articles. Today, we turn to Adam Faughn who runs the Faughn Family of Four blog. I asked Adam to join us, because he has a different format. The subtitle of his blog is, “Our blog about the Bible, family, and fun!”

Adam discusses the Bible, hymns, as well as posting links to various sites and articles. He offers a broad appeal and actively advertizes his blog. I wanted to get his insight into what he is doing. Thanks, Adam.

1. You have a blog. Tell us about it.

My blog, The Faughn Family of Four, covers a little bit of everything. I wanted to mention the entire family in the blog name because we do put pictures of the family on there from time-to-time, but also because we blog about family more than any other subject.

2. How did you get started as a blogger?

I really started my blog as a way to do two things. First, it was an extra “outlet” for my bulletin articles. Also, it was a way to add some commentary on news articles. While our focus has changed in the 5 years we’ve been doing this (as has our site…twice!), I still see the blog as an extra outlet.

3. What are the best lessons you have discovered through the years, as a blogger?

Several, but here are just a couple. One is a basic lesson of writing, and that is, once it’s “out there” (published), it’s out there! While you can edit a blog post, once people have read it, it is in their mind.

The other lesson I have learned is to not worry about “traffic.” While it is natural to think out how many “hits” your blog gets, it is also important to remember that people choose your blog. The ones who want to read are reading on a regular basis. I don’t get that many hits (about 100-150/day), but I know that the people who are there want to be there.

4. What is your strategy for promoting your website?

I really don’t have any specific strategy. I put links to my new articles on Twitter and Facebook, and that’s about it.

5. What are your feelings about Twitter?

I think Twitter is a great tool, when used for good. I have met all sorts of new people, and have been able to stay in contact with many others are a regular basis, through Twitter. It has also become a great way for me to keep up with news locally.

6. What is your strength as a writer?

I think my strength is being honest. I don’t write long posts on my blog, because I want to say what I have to say, and that’s all. I enjoy blogging because I can share my opinions with the world (what hymns I enjoy, for example), and that connects with several people.

7. In what areas can you grow as a writer?

Vocabulary. While I know a lot of words, I am not good at using them in my writing, and that, at times, causes my writing to be more unclear than it should be.

8. What plans do you have for the future?

One of my favorite things to do on the blog is to have guests writers. Expect more of this in the future.

Also, my wife and I have started a blog dedicated to our family, and we are going to start updating that in the near future.

9. How important is the design of a blog?

For me, it is very important. I have changed a few times, because I knew what I wanted and couldn’t quite find it. Finally, I got a template that has what I want and can be customized a little more in the future to make it more personal.

10. What do you see is the future of spreading the gospel online?

I think podcasting holds a great deal of potential. Many good programs, other than just recordings of sermons, are out there and growing. Those who can combine these programs with high-quality online content are going to do great things in the near future.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Interview with Adam Faughn

  1. Pingback: The Mission of the Writer | The Fellowship Room

  2. Pingback: The Faughn Family of Four » Blog Archive » Friday Links Roundup: Focus Press Edition

Leave a Reply

