The Moving Word

Writer, Preacher, Bookworm, Student of the Word

Bookworms and Technology

While I know little about technology, I can still enjoy all the blessings that come from the knowledge and achievements of others. We are truly blessed in our day to have so many tools to enjoy information and stories. As a bookworm, I am embracing the opportunities as much as I can.

  • I will always be reading a book with more stacked beside my bed and a list of holds at the library.
  • I will always be listening to an audio book in my car when I drive and have a stack waiting for me to enjoy.
  • I have audio books I listen to on my computer while I am working or relaxing.
  • I have e-books downloaded on my computer kindle.
  • I have e-books on the kindle on my Android.

Recently, I finished reading my first book on my phone. I was proud to have taken that step. At some point, I will get a real e-book reader but for now, my phone will work fine. Thanks to technology, I can read or listen to a book everywhere I go. What can be better than that?

I know I’m not the only one who has this many books going at once. I’d love to hear your story about your adventures with books and technology–high-tech or low-tech.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Bookworms and Technology

  1. Using technology to benefit your hobby or whatever it is you do, is always a good thing. I use my Nook when I travel, but while at home, I’m traditional, I like to hold my books in my hand, and smell the scent of the printed. Whatever makes life easier and better, but more importantly, makes you happier, this is the way.

  2. DianaQ on said:

    On the one side, I love the feel and smell of books. And old books, oh dear. They have their very own brand of deliciousness. I have a couple of late 1800s books and I’ll be honest…..I open them an inhale just for the joy of it.

    But at the same time, I find myself living in a place with little room for storage. Being married to a book lover, means we have to share our book space.
    So buying a Kindle was a way for us to continue pursuing our book love w/o sacrificing our space.

    Someone pinned an image the other day on Pinterest that said something along the lines of: “I was born with a reading list I’m never going to complete”. Alas, it’s true. Last I checked my ‘to-read’ list on Goodreads, I had over 100 pending titles. So yes, there’s always more to read there. And with so many options (paper and e-ink), I’ll be entertained forever, haha.

Leave a Reply

