The Moving Word

Writer, Preacher, Bookworm, Student of the Word

Fibromyalgia: Will We Fight?

darklight786

by Richard Mansel

Fibromyalgia is a terrible illness, and there isn’t a cure. It isn’t going away. It suddenly appeared but it isn’t likely to vanish overnight. It’s a dark and evil thing but it’s here and must be faced. Ignoring it won’t help.

If we can’t get rid of it, we have to decide how we will react to it. Failing to make a proactive decision is concession and defeat. Action must be taken on a conscious level. We fight for victory or we surrender with timidity.

We can admit that this illness is here, and we must DO something in response. We must take a stand and fight or it will destroy us. We must be men and women and prove we are stronger than this enemy. Our lives have too much to offer to curl up in a ball and die.

We can do two things to fight Fibromyalgia.

First, we decide what kind of attitude we will have about this illness. This is a thorny issue among Fibro sufferers. Some find it ridiculous that anyone could have a positive outlook when they are so miserable. How can they when they do not see any hope or answers?

The answer is reality. Imagine we are trapped in a house and a killer is somewhere in the building.  After a moment of fear and grieving, we decide that we will either win go down fighting with honor. It is no different with Fibro.

Negativity is blackness and it can smother us. It becomes a power of its own and the stress that results from this darkening of our mind and spirit causes more pain. The more we become wrapped in negativity, the more like surrender it becomes.

Feeling sorry for ourselves is human. But what we choose to do after that is our decision. We will grieve for a long time that we have lost so much of ourselves. However, we still face new days and we can choose to see the sunshine or we can burrow into blackness.

By choosing to have as positive an attitude as we can muster, we are taking up arms to fight. We are realistic, but we are fierce. We will CHOOSE to smile, regardless of the pain. We will CHOOSE to make the best of a terrible situation.

Second, we control what we will do with our aching bodies in terms of rest, diet and fitness. While Fibro is beating us up, we can fight by taking care of ourselves in defiance. When we destroy our bodies, we are helping the Fibro win. Fibromyalgia may be attacking us, but we will not surrender our health completely!

We cannot avoid this decision. In fact, we have already made it. All we can do is decide if we will continue down the path we are taking or take a better path.

Be strong. Be Fibro strong!

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Fibromyalgia: Will We Fight?

  1. Excellent post! Thank you.

  2. Outstanding Post! Thank you! Denise /FLNA

  3. thank you very good .sometimes w/ this ungodly illness its hard to stay positive i try to brighten someone elses day.

  4. Mary on said:

    No need to fight it. When we fight againt something we actually lock it in our vibrational system! I have had fibro for 20 years and I appreciate all that you share and your optimism. I also feel that we need to be impeccable with our word.
    When we fight we resist!

  5. Lynn Fettes on said:

    I love it…”be strong. Be Fibro strong.” Very encouraging to those of us who are struggling!

  6. Embrace it! Use a lot of humor ie: ‘The Fibro Shuffle’ to envision how we look on those days we can’t walk properly due to pain or numbness but think we still look good (or normal) walking. Then I think how goofy I probably look from behind to someone I am walking (hobbling) in front of….or ‘Alien Hand Syndrome’ for those days my hands seem to have minds of their own. Those mornings when as soon as I reach for something it either falls to the floor or is propelled across the room with great force. I have actually looked at my hands in amazement and disbelief when this happens because I didn’t do it! My hands did but I didn’t – only fellow fibromites will understand this. Fibro, the Joker in my deck of life cards. I’ve been dealing with Fibro for all of my life – even as a young child. So for almost 51 years I struggled and fought this disorder determined to win, to beat Fibro. Then one day I embraced it because fighting it was not working and I felt so defeated and even more exhausted. I decided Fibro is an aspect of me, another piece of the puzzle that is me and my life. This may sound weird but the more I change my outlook towards obstacles in my life the easier those obstacles are to overcome – or deal with. Such as Fibro and all the strange ailments that accompany it. So, I laugh at myself and my daily escapades…those silly things our brains do like tell us to put the milk in the oven and the cereal in the fridge. Yes, I have bad days, very bad days, down days and flares that may last a week or months <—I was bedridden for about 6 months in 2001 after a very stressful life event. Sometimes I get a bit angry or discouraged but then remember this too shall pass (whatever I'm going through like daily migraines or feeling like my joints have been smacked with a hammer) and it does. I too like "Be strong. Be Fibro strong.'

  7. We have to stay positive, as hard as that may seem at times, but if you don’t, we will have let the disease beat us. In my doctor’s words…stay happy as much as possible but I guess what he meant is stay stress free as much as possible.

  8. Hi Richard,
    I am a fellow fibro sufferer who was diagnosed a few months ago – but have been suffering with it for 7 years! I read your post through Dr Fibro on Facebook. Was pleasantly surprised to find that like me you are also a writer and that you love Jesus. Just wanted to say Hello. Your website it great. My website is a wee one – Dancing in the Rain: http://anusha-atukorala.webnode.com/
    And my blogsite is contained in it. Hope you manage a peek into it.
    Blessings and asking God to heal you – and all of us fibro sufferers.
    God bless,
    Anusha

  9. Monica Way on said:

    One of my mottos these past 20 years since diagnosis is : Smile….even if you dont want to…because it will change your chemistry AND someone else.

  10. darlene spiegel on said:

    Excellent Post. I developed fibro 12 yrs ago after a traumatic injury to my neck. After the loss of my nursing career, after the grieving and trying to live with this terrible disease; after all I found a positive attitude! It helps and most days I am fibro strong!

  11. Pingback: Fibromyalgia and Diet - The RAnts of RA

Leave a Reply

