The Moving Word

Writer, Preacher, Bookworm, Student of the Word

Why I Love the Bible

reverence

by Richard Mansel

To me, the Bible is more than just a book. It is a living thing, breathing wisdom and power. It’s a message from God and a window to the future. Nothing else exists like the Bible.

It is my lifelong love. I share my passion for the Word of God in hopes that readers will grow in their love for the Bible and will spend more time with Scripture. That word “Scripture” is such a hallowed word that rises above us in majesty. It feels so powerful and sacred coming off the tongue.

Reading is one of the most important things in my life, and I can’t remember a time when I couldn’t read. Books have been my constant companion, and they matter more to me than a mansion. So, why would I neglect the greatest one ever written?

I remember Bible class as a child and winning a Bible for reading the New Testament. That was one of my proudest moments and I still have the Bible today. Later as an adult, one of my Bibles was stolen, and I remember the trauma of that moment.

The Bible is God’s Word to humanity (2 Timothy 3:16-17). While I may be very insignificant in this world, God tells me in Scripture how important I am (John 3:16).

Jesus is even described as the Word (John 1:1-5,14), the very thoughts and intents of the Father. He is knowledge, reason, wisdom and reality at a level beyond human comprehension. We cannot stand in judgment of Him, we can only marvel in awe.

God’s Word was settled before time began, so it will never change (Psalm 119:89). Yet, I can return to its pages and continually find it fresh and new. A lifetime of study cannot exhaust its lessons.

We study, learn and live God’s Word, and it’s always prescient and pertinent. We never grow bored studying Scripture, and we should humble ourselves before its brilliance.

I find myself in this book written by the Creator of the Universe, and that takes my breath away. I learn who I am, why I make so many mistakes and how I can grow and understand better how to deal with others.

I see the world in the Bible, and I subsequently understand why evil exists, why people live as they do and how we can all grow closer together. Every problem of mankind finds a solution in Scripture because our Father loves us.

Solomon said that there is nothing new under the sun (Ecclesiastes 1:9) and God has laid out all the patterns for us to follow.

God’s Word is a highway to holiness (Isaiah 35:8), and I need to scour its pages to learn how I can live for God and spend an eternity in heaven with Jesus. Nothing on earth can change God’s plan, and that brings comfort beyond belief!

Live in the Word, love its Message and share its glory with everyone who will listen!

The beauty within its pages is brighter than the sun! In fact, it “is a lamp to my feet And a light to my path” (Psalm 119:105) and all I have to do is walk the resplendent road to paradise!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Why I Love the Bible

  1. Pingback: Are Science and the Bible Compatible? | Stepping Toes

  2. Pingback: Life is a Travel Trailer – Psalm 144:4 – Bible Inspiration « Darrell Creswell

  3. Pingback: No big to-do and other not-so-random thoughts | Walking with God

Leave a Reply

